Who are the Detroit Tigers?

Published On: Oct 17 2012 11:05:16 AM EDT   Updated On: Sep 29 2014 01:25:45 PM EDT

The Detroit Tigers are the oldest continuous one-name, one-city franchise in the American League. They were founded in 1894 and have won four World Series championships and been AL Pennant winners 10 times.


1935 World Series -- Chicago Cubs (W 4-2)

1945 World Series -- Chicago Cubs (W 4-3)

1968 World Series -- St. Louis Cardinals (W 4-3)

1984 World Series -- San Diego Padres (W 4-1)


They played first in 1901 at Bennett Park at the Corner of Michigan Avenue and Trumbull Avenue until 1912 – when it became Navin Field. In 1938, the field was expanded and renamed Briggs Stadium. The stadium underwent another name change to Tiger Stadium in 1961.

In 2000, the team moved to the new Comerica Park.

The team is owned by Mike Ilitch and managed by Jim Leyland.  Dave Dombrowski is the president and general manager.

A complete historical summary can be downloaded here.