Mich. drivers with no child safety seat may pay up
Fine of $103 plus court costs for violation
Michigan lawmakers may no longer let drivers off the hook if child passengers aren't in a safety seat.
Violators now can avoid up to $103 in fines and court costs if they prove they have bought a child safety seat before the court appearance date on their citation.
Under a proposed bill, judges would no longer be required to waive the court penalties. The state Senate's Transportation Committee plans to consider the bill on Tuesday.
The legislation specifically addresses violators of a requirement to secure children under age 4 in a safety seat. Michigan also requires children under age 8 to be in a booster seat.