SAN FRANCISCO - Facebook will now let you pre-approve photos before your friends can post them with your name attached.
Currently, your friends can add your name to a photo without your consent or knowledge. You can remove it later, but only after lots of others may have seen the embarrassing shots. Now, you can insist on pre-approval.
This won't affect whether your friends can add a photo of you, only whether your name is attached to it. That affects how easily people can search for the photo based on your name.
Facebook said Tuesday that the change is in response to user requests.
Instead of going to a separate settings page, the new controls will be on users' pages, next to the posts and photos they share.
What do you think? Was this a good move by Facebook? Leave your comments below.
Copyright 2011 by ClickOnDetroit.com. The Associated Press contributed to this report. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.