Shhhhhh! It is a secret. Pinterest users are now able to create up to three secret boards. The boards can be made visible to others when the time is right, by switching the "secret" setting from "on" to "off."
If you want to create a new secret board after your three slots are filled up, you’ll have to delete one. Pinterest says that it won’t count as one of your three boards if you contribute to a friend’s Secret Board.
"When you add a pin to a secret board, it won’t show up anywhere else on Pinterest—the only place you can see it is on your secret board. Right now, you can’t make existing boards secret because others people may have already repinned from your board," said a Pinterest spokesperson.
On the web, there is a Secret Board box at the bottom of a user's profile.
On the latest version of the Pinterest mobile app for iOS and Android, there is a 'create secret board' button inside the boards tab in your profile.
"You can use secret boards to keep track of holiday gifts, plan a special event, or work on a project you aren’t yet ready to share with the rest of the world. You can keep your secret boards to yourself or invite family and friends to pin with you," says Pinterest.