Tonalist has won the Belmont Stakes in a photo finish just a nose ahead of Commissioner.

California Chrome, winner of the Kentucky Derby and Preakness, finished fifth after fading down the stretch.

After the race California Chrome owner Steve Coburn criticized rules that allows horses like Tonalists to race the mile-and-a-half Belmont Stakes without having competed in the grueling three races in five weeks Triple Crown circuit.

"This is the coward's way out," he told NBC after the race. Coburn added that only horses that enter the Kentucky Derby should be eligible to race in the Preakness and Belmont.

The last Triple Crown winner was Affirmed in 1978.

Horse racing's Triple Crown winners

Published On: Jun 05 2014 01:36:50 PM EDT   Updated On: Jun 02 2014 02:53:18 PM EDT

Only 11 horses have accomplished the Triple Crown, with the most recent being Affirmed in 1978.

1 / 13

1978: Affirmed

Jockey: Steve Cauthen, who is seen here singing a picture of himself on Affirmed before the 2013 edition of the Kentucky Derby