Review: Pharrell's new album makes everyone happy

Pharrell's new album 'GIRL' hit stores on Tuesday

Headline Goes Here

DETROIT - Oh, how I've missed the smooth sounds of the Neptunes, N.E.R.D., and of course, the mastermind behind both, Pharrell Williams.

Pharrell released his first solo-album since 2005's hit record "In My Mind," which featured the hit single "Number One" featuring a then young Kanye West. His new album, which was released on Tuesday, is titled "GIRL."

Musically, GIRL features a funky, poppy vibe that combines classic Motown bounce with instrumental funkiness. I compare the album to Justin Timberlake's 2013 smash album "The 20/20 Experience" because of the long winding tracks, with unique instrumental breaks and complete shifts in tempos within single songs.

In addition to the No. 1 hit single "Happy," there's a slate of songs that could end up being chart toppers: "Brand New," which features Justin Timberlake, "Gust of Wind," and "I Know Who You Are," and my personal favorite "Hunter" are definitely next up for the charts.


Like with any project with Pharrell attached, the production quality is top notch. The album is overwhelmingly positive, but in a good way. Pharrell worked with big names on the album, including Daft Punk and soundtrack master Hans Zimmer. After being involved with the summer anthems of 2013, "Blurred Lines," and "Get Lucky," Pharrell is ready to own the spring with his own voice.

RATING: 4.5 stars out of 5

Copyright 2014 by All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.