Hospital safety report cards released

Group grades hospitals around the country based on patient safety

(Ferre' Dollar/CNN)

DETROIT – Just in time for the end of school, there is another report card out, this one on hospitals. Looking at more than 2 dozen factors focused on patient treatment and outcome, a non-profit group graded hospitals around the country based on patient safety then assigned an overall grade.

The Leapfrog Group is a national not-for-profit organization that was founded by the nation's leading employers and private healthcare purchasers.


Sinai-Grace Hospital- A

Henry Ford Hospital - C

Harper-Hutzel Hospital - A

St. John Hospital and Medical Center - A

Detroit Receiving Hospital/University Health Center - A


Providence Hospital – Southfield – A 

St. Joseph Mercy – Pontiac – A 

Beaumont – Royal Oak – A 

Botsford – Farmington Hills – A 


St. Mary Mercy Hospital – Livonia – A 

Sinai Grace Hospital – DETROIT – A 

Henry Ford Hospital – DETROIT – C 

Beaumont – Grosse Pointe – A 

St. John – Detroit – A 

Detroit Receiving Hospital – A 


Henry Ford – Clinton Township – A 

St. John Macomb – Warren – B 


University Of Michigan Hospitals & Health Center – Ann Arbor – A 

St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor - A

Chelsea Community Hospital-   A

For more information on how other hospitals did, visit http://hospitalsafetyscore.org/

What is a hospital safety score?

The Hospital Safety Score uses national performance measures to produce a single score representing a hospital's overall performance in keeping patients safe from preventable harm and medical errors.

The score includes 26 measures, divided into two domains: Process/Structural Measures and Outcome Measures.

Process Measures represent how often a hospital gives patients recommended treatment for a given medical condition or procedure. Structural Measures represent the environment in which patients receive care.

Outcome Measures represent what happens to a patient while receiving care.

The Hospital Safety Score is an A, B, C, D, or F letter grade reflecting how safe hospitals are for patients.