Michigan governor signs legislation banning cellphone use for some teen drivers

Snyder signs Kelsey's Law, named for Michigan teen killed in crash while on cellphone

Headline Goes Here

LANSING, Mich. -

Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder signed legislation Tuesday which prohibits novice drivers from using a cell phone while behind the wheel.

Watch: Local 4 puts hidden camera in teen's car.

The legislation applies to holders of Level 1 licenses, who must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or another licensed driver at least 21 years old, and those with Level 2 licenses, who can drive alone with some limits on hours and carrying young passengers.

It exempts Level 3 drivers, who have full privileges.

Snyder was joined at the bill signing by family members of Kelsey Raffaele, a 17-year-old from the Upper Peninsula who was killed in a crash while chatting on her cell phone.

Kelsey died in January 2010 near her home in Sault Ste. Marie.

Read: Would you hire a spy for your teen, senior driver?

Bonnie Raffaele, her grieving mom pushed for "Kelsey's Law."

Raffaele has previously said her focus is on inexperienced teens, who are especially vulnerable.

Snyder signs Kelsey's Law

More headlines:

Teens hiding online behavior

Teens burning skin in salt, ice challenge

Condom dispensers in Philadelphia schools to combat STD problem

Copyright 2013 by ClickOnDetroit.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.