Gov. Snyder announces appointments to onion, carrot committees

Members appointed to onion, carrot committees promote advancement of vegetable industry in Michigan

Headline Goes Here

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced appointments to two lesser known Michigan committees.

The Michigan Onion Committee received new members Michael Bosch, of Hamilton, and Bruce Klamer, of Byron Center.

Nathan Karnemaat, of Fremont, Ralph Oomen, of Hart, and Stanley Van Singel, of Grant, were also appointed to the Michigan Carrot Committee.

Each committee consist of five members who prepare and oversee either the carrot or onion program budget and makes recommendations to the marketing program, which promotes the advancement of Michigan's carrot or onion industry

"These individuals are dedicated to advancing Michigan's agriculture industry and I am confident they will do great work on this committee," said Snyder.

Bosch is a field supervisor at Eding Brothers' Celery Farm in Hamilton. He began farming part-time in 1997 and has worked full-time since 2006. Bosch holds a bachelor's degree in secondary mathematics and movement science from Grand Valley State University. He replaces Greg Krikke.

Klamer is owner and president of V & W Farms Inc. in Byron Center. He is a third-generation vegetable farmer, bringing 30 years of experience. Klamer currently serves as the committee's chairman.

Karnemaat is the assistant manager of Karnemaat LLC in Fremont, where he has served for the past eight years.

Previously, he worked at Worldview Academy Leadership Camp and served as a field scout assistant for Cheever's Inc., now Helena Chemical Co.

Oomen is president of Oomen Brothers Inc. He brings nearly 30 years of farming experience to the committee and serves as vice president of the Michigan Vegetable Council.

Van Singel is a partner at Van Singel Farms LLC, where he has worked for nearly 50 years. He is president of the former Michigan Muck Farmers, which has now merged with the Michigan Vegetable Growers Association.

Appointees will serve four-year terms and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

Copyright 2012 by All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.