WDIV Local 4 News honored with 2010 Murrow Awards

WDIV-TV Local 4 News honored with 2010 Murrow Award for overall excellence

WDIV-TV Local 4 has been honored for excellence in journalism by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA). The station is a proud recipient of a coveted 2010 Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in news coverage. RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. The Edward R. Murrow Award is considered one of the most prestigious awards a news organization can achieve, embodying the spirit of excellence in journalism. WDIV Local 4 News won the top award for overall Outstanding Excellence in Region 7 of the large market TV category. WDIV is proud to be the only station in the southeast Michigan market to receive a 2010 Murrow Award. Local 4 News is currently the #1 newscast at 4 p.m., 5 p.m., 6 p.m. and 11 p.m. in Nielsen ratings for the Detroit television market, and Local 4 News at 11 p.m. is the highest-rated newscast of all NBC affiliates in the top 11 markets nationwide. ClickOnDetroit.com, WDIV?s local and national news, weather, sports and entertainment website, is currently the #1 local media website according to ComScore ratings.

About Post-Newsweek Stations Post-Newsweek Stations is owned by The Washington Post Company (NYSE: WPO), a diversified education and media company. Post-Newsweek Stations owns and operates six television stations: WDIV, the NBC affiliate in Detroit; KPRC, the NBC affiliate in Houston; WPLG, the ABC affiliate in Miami; WKMG, the CBS affiliate in Orlando; KSAT, the ABC affiliate in San Antonio; and WJXT, an independent in Jacksonville. Post-Newsweek also has ownership interests in LATV Networks and Internet Broadcasting (IB).

Copyright 2011 by ClickOnDetroit.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.