Charles Woodson, Marty Turco lead 2017 Michigan Athletics Hall of Honor Class

Charles Woodson/GETTY

DETROIT – The University of Michigan athletic department announced its seven-member 2017 Hall of Honor Class.

The 2017 class includes:

Mary (Fischbach) Jones (women's swimming and diving), Gil LaRose (men's gymnastics), Norvard "Snip" Nalan (wrestling), Lisa (Larsen) Rainsberger (women's track & field/cross country), Marty Turco (ice hockey), MaliVai Washington (men's tennis) and Charles Woodson (football) joining the prestigious Hall.

The seven individuals will be honored in the spring. Date and location are to be determined. Criteria for consideration included being a NCAA Champion or member of a national championship team, an All-American, Olympic medalist, Olympic team member, professional league champion or world championship team medalist/member, NCAA or conference player of the year, conference champion, record holder or all-conference award winner.

Mary Fischbach was a diver at Michigan in 1984 and 1987-88. In 1988, she won NCAA titles on both the one-meter (486.80) and three-meter (551.75) events, becoming the first female NCAA Champion for the Michigan swimming and diving team. She was a seven-time NCAA All-American, receiving the honor all three years on one-meter and three-meter. She was the 1988 Big Ten Diver of the Year and won four Big Ten titles during her tenure while helping U-M win the Big Ten team championship in 1987 and 1988. She was on the U.S. National team for 10 years and was an alternate for the 1988 Olympic team. In 1992, she was named to the Big Ten's All-Decade women's swimming team. She will become the 11th inductee from the women's swimming and diving program.

Gil LaRose graduated from U-M in 1963 with a degree in physical education. In 1963, he led the Wolverines men's gymnastics team to a NCAA Championship and Big Ten title. He captured the all-around crown as well as vault and horizontal bar at the 1963 NCAA Championship. He won Big Ten titles in the all-around, floor exercise and vault. He finished his career at Michigan as a nine-time All-American with five his senior year, three as a junior and one his sophomore season. LaRose competed for Canada at the 1964 and 1968 Olympic Games. He passed away in 2006 and will be honored posthumously. He will become the third inductee from the men's gymnastics program. 

Norvard "Snip" Nalan was a two-time NCAA All-American, winning back-to-back NCAA titles at 130 pounds in 1953 and 1954 to become the first two-time national champion in program history. In 1954 he was given the Gorrarian Award for the most pins in the least amount of time. He was a three-time Big Ten champion and was named the Big Ten's Most Outstanding Wrestler in 1953. He finished with a career record of 44-3. He is a member of the Minnesota Chapter in the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and is also a member of the Iowa High School and Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fames. Nalan passed away in 1989 and will be honored posthumously. He will become the 14th inductee from the wrestling program.

Lisa Larsen graduated in 1984 with a degree in education. She started as a member of the women's swimming & diving team in 1979-80 before running cross country and track and field for three years. She was a two-time All-American in cross country in 1981 (AIAW) and 1982 (NCAA) and an All-American in the 10,000-meter run in 1983. She helped lead U-M to the 1982 NCAA Regional title and an eighth place finish at the national championship. She went on to win the Boston Marathon in 1985, the last American to do so and was a two-time winner of the Chicago Marathon in 1988 and 1989. She was one spot away from making the 1984 Olympic marathon team for the United States. In 2004, she was inducted into the Michigan Women's Track and Field Hall of Fame. She will become the fifth inductee for women's cross country and eighth for women's track and field.

Marty Turco led Michigan to two NCAA titles (1996 and 1998) and four Frozen Four appearances. He holds U-M records for career wins (127 - NCAA record), career shutouts (15) and wins in a season (34 in 1995-96). He finished with a career record of 127-28-7. He was a first team All-American in 1997, the 1997 CCHA Goaltender of the Year and the 1995 CCHA Rookie of the Year. In 1998, he was named the NCAA Frozen Four Most Outstanding Player. Turco was drafted in the fifth round of the 1994 NHL Draft by the Dallas Stars and played 11 seasons in the NHL for the Stars, Chicago Blackhawks and Boston Bruins. He was a three-time NHL All-Star and represented Canada at the 2006 Olympics.  He will become the 21st inductee for ice hockey.
MaliVai Washington was on the men's tennis team for two seasons at Michigan, earning ITA All-American honors both years. In 1989, he was named the ITA National Player of the Year and Big Ten Athlete of the Year, climbing to the No. 1 spot in the ITA singles rankings. He was the 1988 Big Ten Freshman of the Year and a two-time All-Big Ten selection. He won the Big Ten singles title in 1989 and teamed with Ed Nagel to win the Big Ten doubles title in 1988. He finished with a career record of 63-16 and went on to a professional career that included making the finals at Wimbledon in 1996, four ATP singles titles and a career-high singles ranking of No. 11. He will become the sixth inductee for men's tennis.

Charles Woodson remains the only primarily defensive player to win a Heisman Trophy, capturing the prestigious award in 1997, the same year he led Michigan to a National Championship. He was a two-time first team All-American, two-time Chevrolet Defensive Player of the Year, three-time All-Big Ten, 1997 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, 1995 Big Ten Rookie of the Year. He also earned the Walter Camp Award, Bronco Nagurski Trophy, Chuck Bednarik Award and Jim Thorpe Award in 1997. He finished his career with 18 interceptions. He was drafted No. 4 overall in the 1998 NFL Draft and played 18 seasons in the NFL. He won a Super Bowl with the Green Bay Packers in 2010, was a nine-time Pro Bowl selection, eight-time All-Pro, 2009 NFL Defensive Player of the Year and 1998 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. He will become the 76th inductee for football.

The U-M Athletics Hall of Honor was established in 1978 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions as athletes, coaches and administrators to the tradition of Wolverine athletics and, in doing so, have enhanced the image and reputation of the University of Michigan.