Miguel Cabrera named Detroit Tiger of the year

Cabrera honored by Detroit Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America

Headline Goes Here

DETROIT - Miguel Cabrera has been selected as the Tiger of the Year for 2012 in voting by the Detroit Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America. The third baseman was a unanimous selection, receiving all 25 first place votes.

Cabrera led the American League with a .330 batting average, 44 home runs and 139 RBI to become the first player to win the Triple Crown since Boston's Carl Yastrzemski in 1967. It marked the 14th time since 1900 a player has captured the Triple Crown and Cabrera is the 12th player to accomplish the feat during that time. He is just the second player in Tigers history to win the Triple Crown, joining Ty Cobb who did so in 1909.

The batting title marked the second consecutive season Cabrera has topped the American League in hitting, becoming the first Tigers player to win back-to-back batting titles since Ty Cobb did so in three consecutive seasons from 1917-19. In addition to leading the league in batting average, home runs and RBI, he also led the league with 377 total bases, 84 extra-base hits and a .606 slugging percentage, while he finished second with 109 runs scored and 205 hits, fourth with a .393 on-base percentage and seventh with 40 doubles.

Since joining the Tigers in 2008, Cabrera leads the American League with 183 home runs, 600 RBI and a .579 slugging percentage, while ranking second with a .323 batting average, 960 hits, 203 doubles, 387 walks and a .401 on-base percentage. He has collected at least 100 RBI in each of his five seasons with the Tigers, becoming just the third player in franchise history to collect at least 100 RBI in five consecutive seasons, joining Harry Heilmann, who did so in seven straight seasons from 1923-29 and Charlie Gehringer, who did so in five consecutive seasons from 1932-36.

Cabrera was announced yesterday on the MLB Network as one of the five finalists for the American League Most Valuable Player Award, selected by a national vote of the BBWAA. He has already been named the MLB Player of the Year by The Sporting News and the 2012 Player of the Year and American League Outstanding Player in voting by his fellow players in the Players Choice Awards.

This year's honor marks the third career Tiger of the Year award for Cabrera as he also won the award following the 2008 and 2010 seasons. He joins Alan Trammell and Cecil Fielder as the only players to win the award three times.

Recipients of the Tiger of the Year Award

        1965 – Don Wert         1990 – Cecil Fielder
        1966 – Al Kaline         1991 – Cecil Fielder
        1967 – Bill Freehan       1992 – Cecil Fielder
        1968 – Denny McLain        1993 – Tony Phillips
        1969 – Denny McLain        1994 – Kirk Gibson
        1970 – Tom Timmerman    1995 – Travis Fryman
        1971 – Mickey Lolich         1996 – Travis Fryman
        1972 – Ed Brinkman         1997 – Tony Clark and
        1973 – John Hiller                   Bobby Higginson (tie)
        1974 – Al Kaline        1998 – Damion Easley
        1975 – Willie Horton         1999 – Dean Palmer
        1976 – Mark Fidrych         2000 – Bobby Higginson
        1977 – Ron LeFlore         2001 – Steve Sparks
        1978 – Ron LeFlore        2002 – Randall Simon
        1979 – Steve Kemp         2003 – Dmitri Young
        1980 – Alan Trammell        2004 – Ivan Rodriguez
        1981 – Kirk Gibson         2005 – Placido Polanco
        1982 – Lance Parrish         2006 – Carlos Guillen
        1983 – Lou Whitaker         2007 – Magglio Ordonez
        1984 – Willie Hernandez     2008 – Miguel Cabrera
        1985 – Darrell Evans         2009 – Justin Verlander
        1986 – Jack Morris         2010 – Miguel Cabrera
        1987 – Alan Trammell        2011 – Justin Verlander
        1988 – Alan Trammell        2012 – Miguel Cabrera
        1989 – Lou Whitaker        

Copyright 2012 by ClickOnDetroit.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.