Drivers who play music too loud in Florida can face a $114 fine

Music can not reach more than 25 feet

(cylonka Bsg/SXC)

Starting next month, drivers who play music too loud in Florida can face a fine of up to $114.

Florida statute 316.3045 will allow police to give tickets to drivers who are blasting their music in cars.

Drivers will be forbidden from playing music from a vehicle that is at a distance of 25 feet or more.

The law also allows police to ticket drivers for playing music too loud in areas around churches, schools or hospitals.

Read the full report from our sister station here, it lists the other Florida laws going into effect.

View the entire statute below

Operation of radios or other mechanical soundmaking devices or instruments in vehicles; exemptions.

  1. It is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to operate or amplify the sound produced by a radio, tape player, or other mechanical soundmaking device or instrument from within the motor vehicle so that the sound is:
    1. Plainly audible at a distance of 25 feet or more from the motor vehicle; or
    2. Louder than necessary for the convenient hearing by persons inside the vehicle in areas adjoining churches, schools, or hospitals.
  2. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any law enforcement motor vehicle equipped with any communication device necessary in the performance of law enforcement duties or to any emergency vehicle equipped with any communication device necessary in the performance of any emergency procedures.
  3. The provisions of this section do not apply to motor vehicles used for business or political purposes, which in the normal course of conducting such business use soundmaking devices. The provisions of this subsection shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities, with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction and within the reasonable exercise of the police power, from regulating the time and manner in which such business may be operated.
  4. The provisions of this section do not apply to the noise made by a horn or other warning device required or permitted by s. 316.271. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall promulgate rules defining “plainly audible” and establish standards regarding how sound should be measured by law enforcement personnel who enforce the provisions of this section.
  5. A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a nonmoving violation as provided in chapter 318.
  6. History.—s. 1, ch. 90-256; s. 220, ch. 99-248; s. 9, ch. 2005-164.

About the Author:

Kayla is a Web Producer for ClickOnDetroit. Before she joined the team in 2018 she worked at WILX in Lansing as a digital producer.