19ºF

The cost of drunken driving in Michigan

(Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)
(Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)

Drunken driving leads to large fines and potential jail sentences for those who are caught.

In Michigan, it is illegal for drivers 21 and older to have a bodily alcohol content of .08 or more.

First-time offenders with a BAC between 0.08 and .017 may face up to $500 in fines, as well as up to 93 days in jail, 360 hours of community service, a 180-day license suspension and six points on their driver’s license, according to the Michigan State Police.

If a first-time offender’s BAC is higher than 0.17, they may face up to $700 in fines, 180 days in jail, 360 hours of community service and a one-year license suspension.

Drivers with a BAC more than 0.17 must also complete an alcohol treatment program and must use an ignition interlock while driving on their restricted license.

With a restricted license, the driver can only drive to and from work, drug and alcohol treatment, treatment for serious medical conditions, probation, community service and school.

Repeat offenders face even harsher penalties.

The Michigan Secretary of State defines a repeat offender as a driver who has two or more alcohol-related convictions within seven years; three or more alcohol-related convictions within 10 years; or three or more convictions for driving while their license was suspended or revoked in seven years, if those convictions resulted in mandatory additional suspensions or revocations.

When a repeat offender is arrested, the metal license plate of the vehicle they are driving will be destroyed, whether or not they own the vehicle. A new plate will not be issued until the case is resolved in court.

Registration denials are also imposed against repeat offenders. During the denial period, the offender cannot purchase, lease or obtain a vehicle, according to the SOS.

Repeat offenders may also face license suspensions, a vehicle immobilization or have to attend substance abuse treatment.

Those convicted of drunken driving must also pay a $1,000 driver responsibility fee for two years.


About the Author: