Michigan football: Garrett Moores wins Holder of the Year, films hilarious speech

Moores named 2016 Holder of the Year

On a night when college football players from nearly every position are being honored, one of Michigan football's unsung heroes gave a victory speech of his own.

Wolverines holder Garrett Moores taped an acceptance speech for the Mortell Holder of the Year award, along with a smattering of other Michigan players.

You can watch the video in the tweet embedded below.

Here is my full acceptance speech for the 2016 Mortell Holder of the Year Award. Thank you to @SonnyEquipment for the great video work!〽️ pic.twitter.com/PRpnw07s7z

— Garrett Moores (@gmoores11) December 9, 2016

The award is given out every year by former Minnesota holder Peter Mortell, who created the award last season and became the first recipient.

Moores beat out Evan Michael, of Memphis, and Connor McQueen, of Texas A&M, to take home the most prestigious holder award in college football.

Based on the highlights, do you think Moores is a deserving recipient?

Moores previously posted a highlight film to make his case for the award. You can watch that video, posted by Sonny Anderson, below.

Moores for Holder of the Year! @cbfowler @PMortell1 @gmoores11 #HoldOn pic.twitter.com/FgBzgCSyzm

— Sonny Anderson (@SonnyEquipment) November 11, 2016

Moores was officially named the winner Thursday by Peter Mortell and Chris Fowler.

Check out the announcement of his award below.

READMichigan to play Florida State in 2016 Orange Bowl

Congrats @gmoores11! This year, in all of college football, no one held their kicker's balls better than you. #HOTY pic.twitter.com/Oy9eyogGwJ

— Peter Mortell (@PMortell1) December 9, 2016