Michigan State basketball's history in Big Ten Tournament championship games

Spartans seek 6th conference tournament title

Tom Izzo, Michigan State men's basketball coach (March 2017, WDIV)
Tom Izzo, Michigan State men's basketball coach (March 2017, WDIV)

ANN ARBOR, Mich. – The Michigan State University men's basketball team's five Big Ten Tournament championship titles are the most by any team in the conference. 

The Spartans picked up their first conference tournament win in 1999, then repeated in 2000 on their way to winning the NCAA National Championship. 

They didn't return to the conference tournament title game until 2012 when Draymond Green helped the 1-seeded Spartans beat Ohio State, 68–64. 

Michigan State won again in 2014 over in-state rival Michigan. They tried for the repeat in 2015 but fell short to Wisconsin in overtime of the title game. 

But the Spartans were back again in 2016 to beat Purdue, 66–62, for their 2nd Big Ten Tournament championship in three years. 

They face Michigan again for the 2019 tournament title. It is the schools' 2nd time meeting in the tournament title game. 

Michigan State basketball conference tournament championship history: 

1999W 67–50vs. Illinois
2000W 76–61vs. Illinois
2012W 68–64vs. Ohio State
2014W 69–55vs. Michigan
2015L 69-80vs. Wisconsin
2016W 66–62vs. Purdue


Source: WDIV and ClickOnDetroit news archives. 

About the Author: