Michael Phelps voted one of six U.S. Olympic Swim Team captains


Michael Phelps, competing at his fifth Olympic Games in Rio, was voted one of six team captains by the 47-member 2016 U.S. Olympic Swim Team.

Phelps, the most decorated Olympian of all time, will be joined by teammates Nathan Adrian and Anthony Ervin as the captains of the men’s team. Ervin won a gold medal at the 2000 Olympics before retiring for a decade. He came back to compete on the 2012 and 2016 teams. Adrian has made two prior Olympic appearances, in Beijing and London, and won 2012 Olympic gold in the 100m freestyle.

On the women’s side, three-time Olympians Elizabeth Beisel and Allison Schmitt were named team captains alongside Cammile Adams, a two-time Olympian. Beisel and Schmitt made their Olympic debuts as teenagers in Beijing, while Adams is back for her second appearance in Rio.

All six are first-time U.S. Olympic team captains and were voted into their positions on Monday night during a training camp in San Antonio, Texas.