Where do I vote? Here’s who will have a temporary polling place in Tuesday’s Primary in Ann Arbor

Polling place at University of Michigan's North Campus Community Center on Aug. 7, 2018 (Photo: Meredith Bruckner)

ANN ARBOR – The Aug. 2 Primary Election is around the corner and many Ann Arbor voters will find their polling place has temporarily changed.

This is due to construction at several Ann Arbor Public School buildings, which typically serve as polling places throughout election season.

If your polling place has temporarily changed for this election only, you should have received a bright orange card in the mail alerting you to the change.

Here are the precincts that will have temporary polling places:

  • 1–2 and 1–3: Community High to Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum, 220 E. Ann St.
  • 2–18: Clague Middle School to Thurston Elementary, 2300 Prairie St.
  • 3–24: Tappan Middle School to Burns Park Elementary, 1414 Wells St.
  • 3–27, 3–29 and 3–30: Scarlett and Pittsfield to Mitchell Elementary, 3550 Pittsview Drive.
  • 5–43: Bach Elementary to Pioneer High School, 601 W. Stadium Blvd.
  • 5–47: Eberwhite to Slauson Middle School, 1019 W. Washington.
  • 5–52 and 5–53: Forsythe Middle School to Ann Arbor Open, 920 Miller Ave.

Polling places will be open 7 a.m.-8 p.m. on Election Day. Those who are registered to vote and are in line by 8 p.m. will be eligible to cast their vote.

All voters must present a valid photo ID to vote. Those without an ID must sign an affidavit to vote.

Read: Your guide to Election Day in Ann Arbor

The City of Ann Arbor reminds registered voters of the following changes this Election Day:

  • All Ann Arbor voters are now in U.S. Congressional District 6, and new State House and Senate districts have also been assigned to Ann Arbor. Some residents will also be assigned to a new County Commissioner District.
  • The precincts have been renumbered, and they are now in consistent chronological order (1–53). So, while you may still be assigned the same precinct and polling location, the number may be slightly different. This new naming convention is a best practice and replaces the previous system of numbering each ward separately. For example, Ward 2, Precinct 1 … is now Ward 2, Precinct 13, following the first 12 precincts in Ward 1.

Have questions? You can contact the city clerk’s office at 734-794-6140 or CityClerk@a2gov.org.

Voters can confirm their polling place information and voter registration at www.michigan.gov/vote.

For more election information, including candidate information, ballot language, voter registration and more, visit www.a2gov.org/elections.