Not reporting a successful deer hunt within 72 hours is a misdemeanor; Lawmakers look to reduce penalty

Bill would lower penalty to civil infraction

File image of a deer. (Texas Parks and Wildlife Department)

Michigan hunters are expected to report a successful hunt within 72 hours of harvesting a deer.

If they don’t, they could face a 90-day misdemeanor and fines that range from $50 to $500.

That’s because harvest reporting falls under a portion of the Wildlife Conservation Order: 3.103 Issuance of deer or elk kill tags; validation of deer or elk kill tag; unlawful acts.

The new rules haven’t even been through their first deer hunting season, but lawmakers are already pushing for change.

House Bill 6354 would knock the penalty down from a misdemeanor to a civil infraction. That means failing to report a successful hunt would end in a ticket and a fine instead of potential jail time.

The bill was sponsored by Rep. Michele Hoitenga, Rep. Mike Harris and Rep. Graham Filler. It was introduced on Aug. 17 and referred to the Committee On Government Operations.

Read: Michigan deer hunters now have to report their harvest online: Here are answers to common questions

Read: More Michigan hunting coverage


About the Author:

Kayla is a Web Producer for ClickOnDetroit. Before she joined the team in 2018 she worked at WILX in Lansing as a digital producer.